Expert-course, Learning goals

According Zimmerman I can use these types of strategies to achieve my learning goals:

Self-evaluating (Statements indicating student-initiated evaluations of the quality or progress of their work)

Organizing and transforming (Statements indicating student-initiated overt or covert rearrangement of instructional materials to improve learning)

Goal-setting and planning (Statements indicating students setting of educational goals or subgoals and planning for sequencing, timing, and completing activities related to those goals)

Seeking information (Statements indicating students setting of educational goals or subgoals and planning for sequencing, timing, and completing activities related to those goals)

Keeping records and Monitoring (Statements indicating student-initiated efforts to record events or results)

Environmental structuring (Statements indicating student-initiated efforts to select or arrange the physical setting to make learning easier)

Self-consequating (Statements indicating student arrangement or imagination of rewards or punishment for success or failure)

Rehearsing and memorizing (Statements indicating student-initiated efforts to memorize material by overt or covert practice)

Seeking social assistance (Statements indicating student-initiated efforts to solicit help from peers, teachers, and adults)

Reviewing records (Statements indicating student-initiated efforts to reread notes, tests, or textbooks (14) to prepare for class or further testing)

 

For spring semester I have two big educational goals. First one is performance goal, second one is mastery:

Me first goal is Safety of my scholarship.

I know to safe scholarship for next study year is obligatory to have some quantity of credits. In order to retain the scholarship in the second year of study, a student must have completed 45 ECTS by the end of their first academic year. If I do not achieve this requirement, they will be liable to pay the full international tuition fee if they wish to complete their Master’s degree program. (http://www.oulu.fi/degree/scholarships)

If I will learn well and will do all assignment I will achieve this goal.

Strategy that I will use:

Goal-setting and planning

With this strategy I will use PSP that I created in September. According to the PSP instructions, I will be offered the opportunity for personal guidance at least twice during my studies. I already had an appointment with their PSP advisor, and my PSP was approved. In case my studies are not progressing as planned, the PSP advisor should help me (for an appointment or another way).

PSP

 Self-evaluating

Self-observation refers to me responses that involve systematically monitoring their own performance. Observing me can provide information about how well one is progressing toward one’s goals. Self-observation is influenced by such personal processes as self-efficacy, goal-setting, and metacognitive planning, as well as by behavioral influences.

Self-judgment refers to me responses that involve systematically comparing their performance with a standard or goal. This definition assumes that self-evaluation depends on such personal processes as self-efficacy, goal setting, and knowledge or standards, as well as self-observed responses

Keeping records and Monitoring

I hope that service WEboody will help me. Oodi is the official student register at University of Oulu. Via this page I can monitor my progress and count credits.

My second goal is to know more about Finland and Finns.

I want to take optional courses about Finnish history, to learn Finnish language, and take some courses with Finnish students. It will be difficult because in our schedule has not so much free space. Thus I use to Seeking information, Goal-setting and planning, Organizing and transforming.

Seeking information and modeling.

Bandura ascribed much importance to a learner’s use of self-regulation strategies. In his view, strategy applications provide a learner with valuable self-efficacy knowledge. This knowledge, in turn, is assumed to determine subsequent strategy selections and enactments; “such representation knowledge is put to heavy use in forming judgments and in constructing and selecting courses of actions”

So I found three interesting courses about Finish history, Finish language and Education( with Finnish students) After it I used modeling.

The impact of modeling on self-regulation is given particular emphasis in social cognitive formulations. The modeling of effective self-regulated strategies can improve the self efficacy for even deficient learners. In Bandura’s view, the modeling of “effective coping strategies can boost the self efficacy of individuals who have undergone many experiences confirming their inefficacy,” as well as “the self-assured*’ . Such modeling is theorized to be especially effective if the model is perceived as similar to the observer.

I compared schedule of LET program and schedule of this courses, later a create a model of my future study in spring semester.

Goal-setting and planning

I evaluated this model, and decided that I should reorganize it; because some points it this model could prevent another goal.  The academic life has a goal coordination activity as well. Thus, my goal orientations in this academic situation could not be reduced, for example, for absence on some compulsory f2f meetings. By this reason I had to perform and reorganize my model.

Organizing and transforming

Finally, interventions and changes were based on a more complex understanding of my goals to be maximally useful for me, and they seek to positively influence. I decided to give up from language course and discuss with teachers possible intersections in schedule. This time new model completely suits all my goals and was approved by teachers.

Leave a comment