Power play – I had learned a lot that day. (Expert-course assignment)

Part 1

Definition

Last mentors meeting (25.01) we decided to organize our visit to real Finnish schools. I had really waiting this with big impatience, I expected to meet staff and provide my first lesson for foreign audience, moreover in English. I have enough experience in teaching in Russia, but before that day I was absolutely novice in teaching abroad. Later our mentors created a day-plan (below) for meeting in Vihanti (first school which we wanted to visit). From my side, I prepared lesson plan for my future lesson. Now I will try to reflect how it was going and show things that I had learned.

 Day-plan for Vihanty.

7.20 Päivi will pick up Fedor & Aleksandra from Oulu railway station
8:30-9.45 Aleksandra will give her lessons about studying in abroad and learning strategies & motivation
9.45-11:10 Finnish school system and meeting with teachers and curator.
11:10-11:50 Lunch at school
11:50-13:05 Fedor will speak to students about psychologist work and studies in Russia.
13:15-14:30 Following lessons at secondary school
15:30 Back to Oulu railway station.

 

Let’s start from beginning.

7.20 Päivi will pick up Fedor & Aleksandra from Oulu railway station
My day started with delay due small misunderstanding. There were two stations: railway and bus station. Of course I choose the wrong one, so we lost about ten minutes. Fortunately mobile connection already invented. Through this situation a learned that is necessary to clarify place for meeting more detailed especially in unknown region.(1)
8:30-9.45 Aleksandra will give her lessons about studying in abroad and learning strategies & motivation
Sasha was given a chance to provide her lesson first. I was lucky, it gave me an opportunity to compare it with my plan, and make some corrections. Via this lesson I realized how important to have visual maintenance.(2) Second idea which I found: Important to give small tasks for students. Later I tried to implement it in my lessons, but may be, it is not fits to my teaching stile. Thus I reject this idea.
 9.45-11:10 Finnish school system and meeting with teachers and curator.
11:10-11:50 Lunch at school
This time we had researched school environment. All whom we met: teachers, staff and especially pupils were very nice and affable. They asked questions and invited us on their lessons, unfortunately we were on schedule.
11:50-13:05 Fedor will speak to students about psychologist work and studies at Russia.
It was my part. Of course I wasn’t nervous because of my knowledge and lesson plan that I had. After 30 minutes of lesson I realized that I have some problems, this time my theory part was finished. Last part of the lesson I expected to have life interaction with audience (questions, games, real examples, etc). However, students wasn’t show their interest and motivation to active participation in lesson. My favorite interactive part of teaching was almost failed and I didn’t have plan B. Later teacher explained me that sometimes Finnish students are shy and needs a time to involve them in study activities. I should to consider difference between Russian and Finish audience, next time I will ask students to prepare questions before meeting.(3) I also going to use different types of activities: for ex brainstorming instead role games. It can help audience to easier adapt to unknown teaching style.
13:15-14:30 Following lessons at secondary school.
15:30 Back to Oulu railway station.
I remember it worse than other parts. I felt something like hangover; I needed in time to analyze experience that I had.

 

Part 2
Reflection.

1) Through this situation a learned that is necessary to clarify place for meeting more detailed especially in unknown region.
Solution according LET: Usage of interactive map services. (Google map)
2) Via this lesson I realized how important to have visual maintenance.
Solution according LET:

3) I should to consider difference between Russian and Finish audience.
Solution according LET:
Usage conception of collaborative learning. (use different types of activities to create better collaboration: for ex brainstorming instead role games)

 

Part 3.
Career plans.

My future interests are connected with process of international lifelong education. From this point of view it was very valuable experience. Now I know how important to pay respect to national background. Cross-cultural differences might play big role in educational process thus it is always necessary to collect information about future group.
I also conduct training groups more than seven years. Since then I had never paid enough attention to visual support. I used only flipchart or whiteboard. After this trip I always use video materials and Prezzi-presentations to support my lectures.

One thought on “Power play – I had learned a lot that day. (Expert-course assignment)

  1. Greetings from your ever-absent mentors. Your reflection upon the visit in Vihanti is really excellent. Next time, if you utilize your observations, we are confident that you will succeed much better.

Leave a comment